Make your own free website on
www.kurbaria     |   home
Introduction   |   General   |   Land   |   Health   |   Travel   |   Accommodation   |   Ressorts and Excusion   |   Geograph and Climatic   |   social and business profile   |    history   |   Government   |   Embassies and Consulates   |    over view   |    Duty Free/ PublicHolidays
The first legislative election has been held in May 1997, and the country is now governed under a democratic transitional regime lead by president Issayas Aferwerki, head of the Peoples Front for Democracy and Justice (PFDJ) and the provisional government established in 1991, with a National Assembly in charge of the Legislature. The government is seeking to pave the way for a multi-party system based on patriotism, broad participation, secularism and social justice, and not on religion or ethnicity.

The constitutional process has also defined which type of political system and governance the country will have in the future and the new constitution (adopted in 1997) has been built around the principle of a Multi Party Democracy for Eritrea in the future.The government is headquartered in Asmara, except for the Ministry of Fisheries which is based in the port of Massawa.